Team & Leadership                                 
  Committed to helping
  you reach your goals


Chris Gesswein

Executive Director MT (ASCP), MS, MBA

Highly respected for his deep understanding of business, research, and product development, Chris Gesswein is charged with commercializing innovative Clemson technology and intellectual property and nurturing private-sector partnerships that will advance scientific discovery at Clemson and support economic growth.

Chris joined CURF in 2014 as Director of Licensing for technology transfer, becoming Interim Executive Director of CURF in 2017. Having more than 20 years of experience bringing various technologies from concept to market working as a new product development and technology transfer specialist for early-stage startups as well as large multinational companies, Chris’s leadership is shown by his unwavering commitment to maximizing the societal impact of Clemson University’s research and innovation.

Contact Chris  

Vincie Albritton, MS

Deputy Director, CURF Director of Operations, Technology Transfer  Contact Vincie 

Andy Bluvas, JD

Technology Commercialization Officer Contact Andy 

Brittany Souto

Executive Assistant Contact Brittany 

Chase Kasper

Director of Business Development Contact Chase 

Clarissa Williams, MS

Marketing Manager Contact Clarissa 

Cindy Sauer

Contracts Administrator Contact Cindy 

Melissa Ioannidis

Technology Commercialization Associate Contact Melissa

Pamela West

Accounts Payable and Receivable Contact Pam


Board of Directors

George Acker (Chairman)

Retired, Vice President External Relations

Duke Energy South Carolina

Stanley Ahalt, PhD

Director of the Renaissance Computing Institute

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Joseph Bailey, PhD

Retired, Research and Development Vice President, Industrial and Electronics Sector

3M Company

Andrew B. Cajka, Jr. (Chair-Elect)

Founder and President

Southern Hospitality Group, LLC

James Clements, PhD


Clemson University

Christie Corbett

Senior Managing Director

FTI Consulting

Steven Crump

Interim Vice President and CFO

Clemson University

A. Chris Gesswein

Executive Director, Director of Licensing

Clemson University Research Foundation

Anand Gramopadhye, PhD

Dean, College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences

Clemson University

Tanju Karanfil, PhD (Vice Chair)

Vice President for Research

Clemson University

Dennis Kekas, PE

Associate Vice Chancellor

North Carolina State University

Brij Khorana, PhD

Retired, Chief Operating Officer

Rose-Hulman Ventures

Martine LaBerge, PhD

Retired, Professor and Chair, Bioengineering Department

Clemson University

Frank Landgraff, JD

Senior Intellectual Property Counsel

GE Power & Water

Cindy Lee, PhD

Chair, Department of Engineering and Science Education Professor, Environmental Engineering and Earth Sciences

Clemson University

Joseph Swann

Retired, President

Rockwell Automation Power Systems

Charles Tegen (Treasurer)

Associate Vice President for Finance

Clemson University

Next Board Meeting: Thursday, September 5, 2019, 8:00am, Executive Board Room, Madren Conference Center