About CURF

Our Mission: To maximize the societal impact of Clemson University’s research and innovation.

In our role as the Clemson University Research Foundation (CURF), we manage the process of moving Clemson’s hundreds of innovative technologies from the laboratory into commercial markets – otherwise known as technology transfer. Established in 1981, CURF is a 501(c)(3) corporation founded exclusively for charitable, educational and scientific purposes. We operate for the benefit of, to perform the functions of, and to carry out the purposes of Clemson University.

We manage the technology transfer functions of Clemson University through various services. These include services in patent protection, marketing, education, material transfer, license negotiation, and providing support for Clemson inventors and entrepreneurs.

CURF is governed by a Board of Directors drawn from leaders in the public and private sectors, giving us the unique advantage of industry leadership and expertise to guide our technology transfer initiatives.

Additionally, CURF acts as the legal recipient of certain gifts, contracts, and grants from public and private industry, non-profits, and government agencies for the performance of research and educational activities associated with Clemson University.

IRS Form 990 for year ending June 30, 2017

Board of Directors

CURF Board of Directors Meetings:

Friday, June 22, 2018
8:00 am
Madren Center Board Room


Mr. George Acker (Chair)
Chair, Executive Committee
(Retired) South Carolina Vice President
Government and Community Relations
Duke Energy Carolinas, LLC

Dr. Stanley C. Ahalt 
Chair, Strategic Planning Committee
Director, Renaissance Computing Institute
Professor, Department of Computer Science
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Dr. Joseph T. Bailey
(Retired) Vice President, Research and Development
3M Industrial and Consumer Sectors

Mr. Andrew B. Cajka, Jr. 
Chair, Development Committee
Southern Hospitality Group

Dr. James P. Clements (Ex-Officio)
Clemson University

Ms. Christie L. Corbett
Chair, Finance and Audit Committees
Senior Managing Director
FTI Consulting

Mr. Steven H. Crump (Ex-Officio)
Interim Vice President for Finance and Operations
Clemson University

Mr. A. Chris Gesswein (Ex-Officio)
Interim Executive Director
Clemson University Research Foundation

Dr. Anand Gramopadhye
Dean, College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences
Clemson University

Dr. Tanju Karanfil (Vice Chair and Ex-officio)
Vice President for Research
Clemson University

Mr. Dennis Kekas
Director, Institute for Next Generation IP Systems
NC State University

Dr. Brij Khorana
(Retired) Chief Operating Officer
Rose-Hulman Ventures

Dr. Martine LaBerge
Professor and Chair, Bioengineering
Clemson University

Mr. Frank A. Landgraff
Chair, Technology Transfer Operations Committee
General Counsel
GE Power Systems

Dr. Cindy Lee
Chair, Engineering and Science Education
Clemson University

Mr. Joseph D. Swann (Ex-officio)
CU Board of Trustees Representative
President, Retired
Rockwell Automation Power Systems

Mr. Charles Tegen (Treasurer)
Clemson University