Commerce awards $70M to biopharmaceutical institute with Clemson researchers

A team of researchers at Clemson University is part of a new national institute aimed at advancing the United States’ leadership in the biopharmaceutical industry.

The National Institute for Innovation in Manufacturing Biopharmaceuticals (NIIMBL), joins 11 other institutes in the Manufacturing USA network and is the first institute with a focus area proposed by industry and funded by the U.S. Department of Commerce. Secretary of Commerce Penny Pritzker announced this week that her agency awarded $70 million to the institute.

Clemson bioengineering professor Sarah W. Harcum is the Clemson site director for this initiative. She is joined on the Clemson team by:

  • Co-site Director Ken R. Marcus, chemistry;
  • Mark Blenner, chemical and biomolecular engineering;
  • Terry Bruce of the Clemson Light Imaging Facility;
  • Richard Groff, electrical and computer engineering;
  • Scott Husson, chemical and biomolecular engineering;
  • JeongSoo Lee, bioengineering;
  • Laine M. Mears of the automotive engineering department at the Clemson University International Center for Automotive Resarch;
  • Christopher Saski of the Clemson University Computational and Genomics Laboratory;
  • Nishanth Tharayil, agricultural and environmental sciences; and
  • Pingshan Wang, electrical and computer engineering.

The institute will help foster economic development, improve medical treatments and ensure a qualified workforce by collaborating with educational institutions to develop new training programs matched to specific biopharma skill needs.


*This article originally posted on the Clemson Newsstand. Read the full story here.*